Published October 16, 2026. Last updated October 17, 2026.
Short answer
For most California employers under 50 people, start with payroll that documents break premiums and sick leave, such as Gusto or OnPay, and add an HRIS only when records outgrow it. Choose a PEO when benefits and risk are the pain, and a scheduling tool when shifts are.
Last reviewed October 16, 2026. Every price and feature below was checked on that date.
Most small California employers do not need “HR software.” They need one to three of five tools that vendors sell as one. This guide covers HRIS, payroll, benefits administration, time and attendance, and PEO or employer-of-record services. It is Part 1 of my series. The series overview maps every category, and Part 2 covers hiring.
Who this guide is for
This is for California owners, operations managers and nonprofit directors with no HR department, Bay Area and Oakland first. I judge each platform on headcount fit, California handling on screen, setup effort, true cost and who should skip it. “Not documented” means I found nothing in the vendor’s own pages. It does not mean the feature is missing, and it is the right question for a sales rep. For outside help beyond software, see my guide to small business HR services.
Quick picks
Under 10 people, mostly salaried: Gusto Simple or OnPay, both published at $49 a month plus $6 per person.
Hourly team at one location: Homebase’s free plan for up to 10 employees, paired with Gusto or OnPay for payroll.
Restaurant: 7shifts or Deputy, because both document California break attestations.
25 to 50 people who need real records: BambooHR or Rippling.
Benefits and risk are the pain: a PEO such as Justworks or TriNet, after you read the co-employment section below.
HRIS and HCM suites: where employee records live
An HRIS (human resources information system) holds the employee file: role, pay, documents, time off and onboarding. The buyer question is whether you need a separate people system. Under about 15 employees, your payroll tool usually does enough. Gusto folds onboarding, PTO and basic HR into payroll, so I cover it below.
Strengths: The cleanest people records of the group, a month-to-month plan option, and Bamboo AI for plain-language reporting (BambooHR AI).
Weaknesses: Payroll, benefits and time are add-ons with unpublished prices, and Capterra reviewers cite limited payroll integrations.
Best fit for my clients: Nonprofits and professional services teams of 15 to 100. Registered nonprofits get 15% off the payroll and benefits bundle.
Watch out for: Break clocking is documented, but the page does not mention California or premium pay. The Extended Term plan auto-renews for 12 months and needs 60 days’ notice (terms of service).
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Core $10, Pro $17 and Elite $25 per employee per month; teams of 25 or fewer pay a flat $250, $425 or $650 (BambooHR pricing). The page’s own FAQ shows $10.25 and $17.50, so confirm.
Rippling
Strengths: One system for HR, payroll, benefits and devices, with managers notified of missed breaks and overtime applied by work location (Rippling time and attendance).
Weaknesses: Prices sit behind a quote, and Capterra reviewers describe a learning curve and costs that rise as modules are added.
Best fit for my clients: Teams adding people monthly with someone to own setup.
Watch out for: I could not read Rippling’s customer terms. One outside summary reports minimum user counts that cannot fall during the term, so ask to see the order form.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: “Plans start at $8 per employee per month, with a monthly base fee,” with no base fee or payroll price published (Rippling pricing).
Zoho People
Strengths: A free plan for 5 users and leave policies you can configure by hours worked, with carryover and maximum balances (Zoho People pricing).
Best fit for my clients: Technical nonprofits that want a low-cost people database next to a separate payroll provider.
Watch out for: Break rules and premium pay for California are not documented. The plan auto-renews unless you notify at least 7 days before renewal.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Paid plans need at least 5 users; per-employee dollar prices were not on the page I could read.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
BambooHR
Per employee; flat at 25 or fewer
15 to 100
Break logging; premium pay not documented
150+ listed
Bamboo AI
Phone, chat, email, weekdays
Strong for records
Rippling
Modular, quote
10 to 500
Missed-break alerts; premium pay not documented
600+ listed
Rippling AI
Hours not documented
Good with a setup owner
Gusto (HR features)
Base plus per person
2 to 100
Break premium pay documented
153 listed
Gus assistant
Chat, callback, email
Strong under 50
Zoho People
Free to 5, then per user
5 to 500
Leave accrual only
QuickBooks billing sync
Zia
24/5 email
Limited for California
Payroll software: who pays, files and stands behind errors
The buyer question: who pays my people, files my California taxes, and covers the penalty if the software errs? Test three rules on screen: wage statements under Labor Code 226, sick leave at the 40-hour or 5-day minimum (DIR), and final pay due immediately on discharge (DIR). New hires must be reported within 20 days (EDD). The break rules are in California meal and rest breaks and PAGA.
Gusto
Strengths: Published prices, filing of the DE 34 new hire report and DE 9 and DE 9C returns, and the only help-center article in this group that documents automatic break premium pay (Gusto break laws).
Weaknesses: Capterra reviewers cite slow escalations and limited report customization. Trustpilot shows 1.9 of 5, which is anecdotal.
Best fit for my clients: One-state employers with 3 to 50 people who want to run payroll themselves.
Watch out for: Its California guide still cites the old 48-hour sick leave cap, I found no published tax-penalty guarantee, and break premiums need Gusto time tracking.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Simple $49 plus $6 per person, Plus $80 plus $12, Premium $180 plus $22 a month; Business Compliance $85 per state a month (Gusto pricing).
OnPay
Strengths: Free setup with no implementation fees, and a bundle that adds HR and time tracking at a low per-worker cost (OnPay pricing).
Weaknesses: Capterra reviewers note no built-in scheduling beyond the add-on and a weak employer mobile app.
Best fit for my clients: Owners who want predictable, no-frills payroll.
Watch out for: Its California page still says 24 hours of sick leave. Wage statements and break premium pay are not documented, and its accuracy guarantee terms are not on the pages I read.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: $49 a month plus $6 per worker; HR and time tracking bundles run $71 to $81 plus $1 to $4 per worker.
ADP RUN
Strengths: A large provider aimed at 1 to 49 employees, with 24/7 phone support advertised (ADP RUN).
Weaknesses: Capterra reviewers put cost and add-on fees first, then limited reporting and limited handling of multiple local jurisdictions.
Best fit for my clients: Owners who want a household-name provider and will negotiate.
Watch out for: No California wage statement, break or final pay features are documented on the pages I read, and ADP’s California sick leave guide is dated.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Quote only. Outside estimates near $79 a month plus $4 per employee are not confirmed by ADP.
QuickBooks Payroll
Strengths: Native sync with QuickBooks accounting and a written tax penalty protection, capped at $25,000 a year (Intuit terms).
Weaknesses: Capterra reviewers cite weak support, price increases and automation that makes unwanted changes.
Best fit for my clients: Employers whose bookkeeper already lives in QuickBooks.
Watch out for: Penalty protection applies only on the top tier and excludes overtime and minimum wage violations and misclassification. Intuit’s pricing and disclosure pages disagree on per-employee fees.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Disclosure page lists about $7, $13 and $17 per employee a month by tier (Intuit disclosure).
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Gusto
Base plus per person
2 to 100
DE 34 and EDD filings; break premium documented
153 listed
Gus, MCP server
Chat, callback, email
Strong
OnPay
Base plus per worker
1 to 50
Sick leave page stale; breaks not documented
Accounting, time
Not documented
Phone 6 AM to 5 PM PT
Good value
ADP RUN
Quote
1 to 49
Not documented
Clover, add-ons
ADP Assist
24/7 advertised
Conditional
QuickBooks Payroll
Per employee by tier
1 to 50
EDD filings, sick leave
QuickBooks native
Payroll AI
Sales hours only documented
Strong with QuickBooks
Benefits administration: coverage, enrollment and COBRA
The buyer question: who sells coverage, who administers it, and what happens when someone leaves? Continuation coverage splits by size. Cal-COBRA applies where the group policy covered 2 to 19 employees, and federal COBRA applies at 20 or more (California Department of Insurance, DOL). The ACA employer mandate starts at 50 full-time equivalents (IRS). The key finding: none of these vendors documents California carriers or Cal-COBRA on the pages I read. Ask.
Strengths: Gusto acts as the broker, so administration costs nothing extra beyond premiums, and federal COBRA runs through Anuvi at no added cost for benefits bought there (Gusto COBRA).
Weaknesses: Trustpilot reviewers describe duplicated deductions and cancellation trouble; these are anecdotes.
Best fit for my clients: Small teams that want benefits and payroll in one place.
Watch out for: No carrier list is published, so Kaiser, Anthem, Blue Shield and Health Net availability is not documented. Covered California is not offered.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: No fee with Gusto as broker; $6 per eligible employee a month with your own broker; HSA $2.50 and FSA $4 per participant (Gusto pricing).
Rippling benefits
Strengths: Works with its own brokerage, its PEO or your broker, and uses AI to review proof-of-relationship documents (Rippling benefits).
Weaknesses: The page says Rippling “does not work with other HR systems” while listing integrations, so confirm in a demo.
Best fit for my clients: Teams already on Rippling HR and payroll.
Watch out for: California carriers and Cal-COBRA are not mentioned; the COBRA page covers federal COBRA.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Quote only.
TriNet Zenefits
Strengths: Medical, dental, vision and life on one dashboard shared with brokers (TriNet HR Platform).
Weaknesses: Capterra reviewers report hold times of 45 minutes or more, though many reviews are older.
Best fit for my clients: Employers who want phone access to HR experts.
Watch out for: Zenefits’ site now redirects to TriNet, which sells it as HR Plus. California carriers and Cal-COBRA are not documented.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Per employee, quote only.
The non-software alternative is Covered California for Small Business: free quotes for employers with 1 to 100 employees. Its 2027 medical carriers are Blue Shield of California, Kaiser, Sharp and Western Health Advantage. Anthem and Health Net are not listed (Covered California). It is a marketplace, not an HR system, so payroll deductions are still yours.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Gusto
$0 admin with Gusto broker
2 or more eligible
Carriers not documented
Gusto payroll
None for benefits
Licensed advisor
Good
Rippling
Quote
5 to 500
Not documented
Rippling HR
Document review
Implementation team
Good on Rippling
TriNet Zenefits
Quote
Not stated
Not documented
21 listed
General AI only
Phone
Conditional
Covered California
Free quotes
Up to 100
2027 carriers listed
None
None
Phone, agents
Strong for coverage
Time and attendance and scheduling: breaks, premiums and shifts
The buyer question: does the clock catch a missed break and pay the premium? California requires a 30-minute meal period when work exceeds five hours, started by the end of the fifth hour, and a paid 10-minute rest period per four hours or major fraction. A missed period owes one extra hour of pay per workday (DIR meal periods, DIR rest periods). Predictive scheduling is local and mostly reaches larger chains: San Francisco, Emeryville, Berkeley and Los Angeles have ordinances, while Oakland’s labor page lists none, so confirm with the city. See my Oakland employer guide.
Homebase
Strengths: A free plan for one location and up to 10 employees, with California break rules preloaded and missed-break premium pay added automatically per its marketing (Homebase breaks).
Weaknesses: G2 reviewers cite limited template customization and a thin mobile app. Trustpilot complaints center on support and billing.
Best fit for my clients: Single-location cafes, shops and salons.
Watch out for: Break waivers need Plus or All-in-One. Daily overtime, split-shift pay and fair workweek handling are not documented.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Basic $0, Essentials $30 and All-in-One $120 per location a month; payroll $49 plus $6 per employee (Homebase pricing).
7shifts
Strengths: The most detailed California help article: punch-out attestations, a Labor Exceptions Report, split shift, reporting time pay and fair workweek notes for four cities (7shifts California).
Weaknesses: G2 cons include POS sync problems and features behind paywalls, from a small sample.
Best fit for my clients: Independent restaurants.
Watch out for: Penalty pay is processed manually. The terms auto-renew and make fees non-refundable, which sits oddly beside the “no contracts” marketing.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: The official pricing page would not load for me, and outside figures conflict. Get a written quote.
Deputy
Strengths: The most rule-driven option: daily overtime after 8 and 12 hours, seventh-day rules, attestations and pay rules for San Francisco, Emeryville, Los Angeles and Berkeley (Deputy California).
Weaknesses: G2 cons include tedious shift management and a slow app. Trustpilot shows 2.9 of 5 from 131 reviews, mostly support and billing.
Best fit for my clients: Multi-location retail and hospitality with a manager who will configure pay rules.
Watch out for: Reporting-time pay is not documented. Annual plans cannot reduce users, and a $30 monthly minimum applies.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Lite $5, Core $6.50 and Pro $9 per user a month (Deputy pricing).
Connecteam
Strengths: A break premium rule, a California waiver option and a free plan for up to 10 users (Connecteam pricing).
Weaknesses: G2 shows 4.6 from 3,506 reviews, with a steep learning curve and restrictive free-tier limits among the top cons.
Best fit for my clients: Field service, cleaning and care teams.
Watch out for: Attestations, split shift and fair workweek handling are not documented.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Operations hub Basic $29 a month for the first 30 users, Advanced $49, Expert $99.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Homebase
Per location
1 to 50
Break rules; premium pay per marketing
Toast, Square, Clover, payroll
Scheduling assistant
Hours not stated
Good for single sites
7shifts
Per location, quote
Restaurants
Attestation, split shift, fair workweek
Toast, Square, Clover
Training builder
Hours not stated
Strong for restaurants
Deputy
Per user
Small to enterprise
Daily overtime, attestation, four cities
Payroll and POS
Deputy AI
Phone, priority on Pro
Strong, more setup
Connecteam
Per hub, 30 users base
1 to 200
Break premium rule
Square, Clover, payroll
Schedule generation
24/7 advertised
Conditional
PEO and employer-of-record platforms: renting an HR department
A professional employer organization (PEO) becomes your co-employer, running payroll, benefits and workers’ comp under its accounts while you direct the work. The buyer question is what you gain and what you still own. DIR is blunt: a PEO “does not release you from liability” (DIR). Ask about IRS certification, which changes who owes employment tax (IRS); I could not confirm any vendor’s status from the IRS list. A registration bill, AB 1515, was moved to the Senate inactive file on August 24, 2026 and did not become law this session (CalMatters). An employer of record (EOR) employs your people where you have no legal entity. My PEO versus fractional HR comparison covers the alternative.
Justworks
Strengths: Published prices, no setup fee, and California carriers named: Anthem, Blue Shield of California, Kaiser, UnitedHealthcare and CalChoice (Justworks carriers).
Weaknesses: Capterra reviewers cite price for small teams, renewal increases and gaps in hourly time tracking. Trustpilot shows 2.1 of 5 from only 37 reviews.
Best fit for my clients: Office-based teams of 5 to 50.
Watch out for: Health coverage needs two benefits-eligible employees from different households and 40% participation. Its IRS certification claim is unverified.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: PEO Basic $79 and Plus $124 per employee a month; payroll only is $8 plus a $50 base (Justworks pricing).
TriNet
Strengths: Founded in the Bay Area, with BCBS, Kaiser and UnitedHealthcare named for the region (TriNet Bay Area).
Weaknesses: G2 reviewers name poor support first, at 61 mentions, then high fees.
Best fit for my clients: Established 20 to 100 employee companies that want an assigned support contact.
Watch out for: California state income tax is reported under your own FEIN. The minimum employee count is undisclosed, and its pages describe contracts both as flexible and as annual.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: A flat per-employee fee with no published list price (TriNet pricing).
Insperity
Strengths: Targets small businesses under 50 employees up to large ones, with assigned HR teams rather than a call center (Insperity PEO).
Weaknesses: Trustpilot shows a small, negative sample; G2 shows 4.3 from 431 reviews.
Best fit for my clients: Employers who want hands-on service and will negotiate.
Watch out for: Its PEO pages do not mention California, so get California service in writing. Contract length is unclear across outside sources.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Hidden. The home page offers credits of up to $425 per full-time employee for new HR360 clients through December 31, 2026 (Insperity).
Deel PEO and EOR
Strengths: One vendor covers a US PEO and global employer of record, with a named HR business partner (Deel PEO).
Weaknesses: I found no PEO-specific reviews, and California commitments are not documented.
Best fit for my clients: Companies hiring in several countries.
Watch out for: The “3 months free” promotion carries a two-year term and non-waivable repayment of full list fees on early termination.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: PEO from $125 per employee a month. EOR pricing was not covered in my review.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Justworks
Per employee, published
2 to 100
California carriers listed
QuickBooks (reviewers weak)
MCP connector
24/7 phone, chat
Strong for small offices
TriNet
Per employee, quote
Minimum undisclosed
Bay Area carriers named
Not documented
AI benefits support
Assigned contact
Good, price opaque
Insperity
Quote
Under 50 and up
Not documented
Not documented
Not documented
Assigned team
Conditional
Deel PEO
From $125 per employee
No minimum
Not documented
Deel platform
General Deel AI
24/7, named partner
Conditional
Wellbeing tools, such as earned wage access in Connecteam, are extras, not selection criteria. Every platform now advertises AI. My AI page explains how I judge it: what happens to your data, and does a person approve each action.
What I would buy at 10, 25 and 50 employees
10 employees: One payroll platform that documents break premiums, such as Gusto with time tracking, and nothing else. Add Homebase’s free plan if you run one hourly location. Skip the HRIS and the PEO.
25 employees: Payroll plus a people system, either BambooHR Core at the flat $250 rate or Gusto Plus. Restaurants add 7shifts or Deputy. Buy benefits through a broker or Covered California.
50 employees: You reach the ACA threshold of 50 full-time equivalents, so reporting matters. Compare Rippling or Paycor against a PEO, and price both against fractional HR before you decide.
Questions I ask before signing a contract
What is the term, does it auto-renew, and what notice do I give?
Can I export every record, in what format, and for how long after I cancel?
What are the implementation, state registration, year-end form and off-cycle fees?
What support do I get in writing: hours, response times and who owns payroll errors?
By how much can prices rise at renewal?
Show me, on screen, a California wage statement, a missed-break premium, 40 hours of sick leave and a same-day final paycheck.
For a PEO: which workers’ comp carrier, which California health carriers, what IRS certification status, and who carries wage-and-hour liability?
What is the best payroll software for a small business in California?
For one-state employers under 50 people, I start with Gusto or OnPay: both publish prices and file California returns. Only Gusto documents automatic break premium pay, and it needs Gusto time tracking.
Do I need a PEO in California?
Usually not under 10 employees. A PEO helps when benefits and workers’ comp are your main pain and you accept sharing the employer role. It does not remove your liability. Compare it with payroll plus fractional HR first.
What is the difference between a PEO and an HRIS?
An HRIS is software you run to store records and manage time off. A PEO is a co-employer that also runs payroll, benefits and workers’ comp under its own accounts, so you share legal responsibility.
Which software tracks California meal and rest breaks?
Deputy, 7shifts, Homebase, Connecteam, Gusto and BambooHR all document some break tracking. Gusto, Deputy, Connecteam and 7shifts document a premium pay mechanism. Test your own scenarios in a trial.
How much does HR software cost for a small business?
Published payroll starts near $49 a month plus $6 per person. People systems start near $10 per employee. Scheduling runs from free to about $9 per user. PEOs start near $79 to $125 per employee a month. Get written quotes that include add-ons and minimums.
Does payroll software file my California taxes?
The major platforms file state payroll returns, but who pays a penalty varies. Gusto files the DE 34, DE 9 and DE 9C. QuickBooks offers written penalty protection on its top tier. Get any guarantee in writing.
What is the difference between a PEO and an employer of record?
A PEO shares employer duties for US employees of a company with a US entity. An EOR legally employs workers where you have no entity. Deel sells both.
Disclosure: As of the date this series was published, I have no endorsements, sponsorships, or financial relationships with any company mentioned, and none of them paid for or reviewed this content. I use no affiliate links. My views reflect my own experience and research, and other professionals and users may reasonably reach different conclusions about these platforms. Features and pricing change often, so verify current details with each vendor before you buy.
Sources
Every link below was opened on the access date shown. Vendor pages are the vendor’s own; review-site figures are as displayed that day.
BambooHR AI (bamboohr.com), accessed October 16, 2026
Part 2 compares applicant tracking, screening and onboarding tools. Before you renew anything, book a free consultation and bring your current invoices.
McKinley holds a J.D. but is not a licensed attorney. Articles here are general information, not legal advice. For your specific situation, talk with an employment attorney.
Data current as of October 2026. Sources are linked where each figure appears.
This article is general information, not legal advice. Laws change and every situation is different; for advice on yours, talk with an employment attorney.
The overview of my five-part HR software series for California small employers: every category mapped, what to buy first, and how I check each platform. No sponsors, no affiliate links.
My Part 2 guide to hiring software for California small employers: ATS, job distribution, assessments, background checks, I-9 and onboarding, with prices checked October 2026.
A PEO runs payroll and benefits, fractional HR brings senior judgment part time, and a first HR hire costs $140,000 or more loaded. The math at 25 employees.