Published October 16, 2026. Last updated October 17, 2026.
Short answer
For 25 to 150 people, Lattice and 15Five publish per-seat prices for reviews, goals and one-on-ones. Under 25, use your HRIS reviews or a written template. Check California pay, training and retaliation rules in a demo before you turn on surveys, rewards or pay tools.
Last reviewed October 16, 2026. Every price and feature below was checked on that date.
Most small employers buy talent management software too early and use a tenth of it. The six categories here are performance and goals, compensation and pay equity, learning, succession and skills, engagement surveys, and recognition. Each helps once you have people to develop, and each creates records California law lets employees ask for. This is Part 3 of my series. The series overview maps every category, and Part 2 covers hiring.
Who this guide is for
This is for California employers of 20 to 200 people with no learning and development team, Bay Area and Oakland first. I judge platforms on volume fit, California handling on screen, setup effort, true cost and who should skip them. “Not documented” means the vendor’s own pages said nothing. Across all six categories, no vendor page I read documents California-specific employment-law features, so the legal questions below are yours to ask in a demo. For pay ranges, see my Bay Area salary map. Setting ranges is in how to set a pay range.
Quick picks
Under 25 people: the review and one-on-one tools inside BambooHR Pro, or nothing but a documented annual review.
25 to 100 people, one tool: Lattice Foundations or 15Five, both published per seat.
Pay benchmarks on a budget: Pave’s free Market Data Lite.
Training with tracking: TalentLMS, with a free plan for five users.
Thank-yous that cost little: Bonusly’s free plan for up to eight users.
Performance management software for small business
These tools run reviews, goals and one-on-ones. The buyer question is whether anyone will log in between review cycles. California adds a duty: current and former employees can request their performance-related personnel records, and you generally have 30 days to provide them (Labor Code 1198.5, statute copy). Pick a system that can export a person’s full history.
Strengths: Published per-seat prices, with succession planning, talent reviews and calibration listed inside Performance (Lattice pricing).
Weaknesses: G2’s most-mentioned cons are missing features, limited customization and a steep learning curve.
Best fit for my clients: Growing teams of 30 to 150 with a manager cadence.
Watch out for: The minimum annual agreement is $4,000, which works out to about 26 seats on the Foundations bundle. Renewal and export terms are not documented.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Foundations $13, Performance $10, Goals $8 and Engagement $4 per seat per month, billed annually.
15Five
Strengths: Per-user pricing with no stated minimum on core packages, and dedicated human support (15Five pricing).
Weaknesses: G2 cons center on limited customization and a learning curve.
Best fit for my clients: Managers who want weekly check-ins more than annual reviews.
Watch out for: Billing is annual only, and add-ons such as manager coaching add up.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Engage $4, Perform $11 and Total Platform $16 per user per month.
Culture Amp
Strengths: AI Coach for drafting reviews and 24/5 chat for companies under 200 employees (Culture Amp pricing).
Weaknesses: G2 cons include missing features and navigation difficulty.
Best fit for my clients: HR-led teams that want performance and survey data together.
Watch out for: Quote only, billed annually, and it assumes someone owns the review and survey cycles.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Not published.
BambooHR
Strengths: Multi-source feedback, custom review cycles and one-on-ones inside Pro, and eNPS surveys inside Core (BambooHR pricing).
Weaknesses: G2 cons across the whole product include limited customization and integration issues.
Best fit for my clients: Teams that already use it for records.
Watch out for: Succession planning is not documented, so do not buy it for that.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Pro $17 per employee a month, or a flat $425 for teams of 25 or fewer.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Lattice
Per seat, $4,000 minimum
26 and up
Not documented
Included, list not read
AI Agent
Dedicated success
Strong
15Five
Per user, annual
Any
Not documented
Not read
Notetaker, coach add-ons
Human support
Good
Culture Amp
Quote, annual
50 and up
Not documented
HRIS, Slack, Teams
AI Coach
24/5 under 200
Conditional
BambooHR
Per employee; flat at 25
10 to 100
Not documented
150+
Not on this page
Weekday live
Good if already there
Compensation management and pay equity software for California
These tools benchmark pay and test for gaps. The buyer question is whether you need software or a spreadsheet and a clear policy. California raises the stakes. Employers with 15 or more employees must put pay scales in postings, and employers of any size must give a current employee the pay scale for their position on request (Labor Code 432.3, statute copy). The Equal Pay Act bars unequal pay for substantially similar work by sex, race or ethnicity, and prior salary alone does not justify a gap (Labor Code 1197.5, statute copy). Private employers with 100 or more employees file annual pay data reports through the Civil Rights Department’s portal (CRD). CalChamber reports a new law expands job categories from 10 to 23 for the 2027 filing (CalChamber). The portal is free, and the practical path for most Oakland employers is a payroll export plus the state’s templates. Syndio, Salary.com and Trusaic are quote-only and oriented to larger employers, so I left them out.
Pave
Strengths: A free tier with salary and equity benchmarks for two locations (Pave pricing).
Weaknesses: G2 cons, from small counts, cite thin benchmark detail and limited role data.
Best fit for my clients: Early-stage tech companies pricing engineering and product roles.
Watch out for: Its data focus is tech companies, and hourly restaurant or retail benchmarks are not documented.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Market Data Lite is free; paid tiers are on request.
Payscale
Strengths: A long-standing compensation suite for larger employers.
Weaknesses: GetApp shows vague reporting and implementation delays, from a page with no verified reviews.
Best fit for my clients: Employers above roughly 200 people with an analyst.
Watch out for: Payscale’s pricing page would not load for me. Vendr’s marketplace data, an independent estimate, shows a median buyer paying $15,893 a year, with default renewal increases of 3% to 7% (Vendr).
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Quote only.
Lattice and 15Five compensation add-ons
Strengths: Published add-on prices and Mercer-powered benchmarking inside Lattice’s compensation page (Lattice compensation).
Weaknesses: Same cons as the parent products, and I found no AI features specific to compensation.
Best fit for my clients: Teams already on either platform.
Watch out for:Pay equity analysis depth is not documented for 15Five.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Lattice Compensation +$6 per seat per month; 15Five $9, or $11 with Mercer benchmarks.
Small business learning management system
A learning management system (LMS) delivers and tracks training. The buyer question is whether you need a platform or just a log. California requires harassment prevention training for employers with five or more employees: 2 hours for supervisors and 1 hour for others, within six months of hire and every two years (Gov. Code 12950.1, statute copy). The Civil Rights Department offers free courses but says they may not be loaded into a third-party system (CRD training). So an LMS adds tracking, not the state’s content. No LMS here documents content meeting that law on the pages I read.
Weaknesses: G2 cons include complexity and a learning curve.
Best fit for my clients: Organizations training 250 or more learners.
Watch out for: Docebo says most customers sign three to five year terms. LearnUpon also sets a 100-user floor, so I skip both for small employers.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Quote only.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
TalentLMS
Tiered by users
5 to 500
Harassment content not verified
Not read
AI credits
Form, status page
Strong
360Learning
Per user, monthly
Up to 100
Not documented
Not read
Not read
Not read
Good
Docebo
Quote, multi-year
250 and up
Not documented
Enterprise
AgentHub
Support hub
Skip under 250
Succession planning and skills platforms
These tools map who could fill which role and what skills the company has. The buyer question is whether you have enough roles to plan around. Under 100 people, a one-page succession table beats software. The dedicated platforms, Gloat, Eightfold and Fuel50, publish no prices and market to large enterprises. I treat that as a fit signal, not a documented headcount cutoff.
Lattice succession and talent review
Strengths: The only published-price option I found that lists succession planning, talent reviews and calibration (Lattice pricing).
Weaknesses: Same G2 cons as above.
Best fit for my clients: Teams of 50 to 150 with a few leadership gaps.
Watch out for: It is not an HRIS or payroll system.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Performance $10 per seat per month; the Grow add-on for competencies and career tracks is +$4.
Gloat, Eightfold and Fuel50
Strengths: Talent marketplaces with AI skills mapping, with enterprise security certifications cited by Eightfold (Eightfold).
Weaknesses: No published prices, demo-only access.
Best fit for my clients: None of my typical clients.
Watch out for: Eightfold’s AI hiring tools would fall under the California automated decision rules described in Part 2.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Quote only for all three (Fuel50 pricing).
Employee engagement survey tools
These tools run pulse surveys and eNPS. The buyer question is whether you will act on the answers. One California risk is easy to miss: a survey comment can work as a complaint. Labor Code 1102.5 bars retaliation for disclosing suspected violations (Labor Code 1102.5, statute copy), and the EEOC lists reporting harassment as protected activity (EEOC). If a tool promises anonymity but small groups or free text identify a person, an adverse action afterward invites a claim. That is my analysis, not a statutory anonymity rule, and I found none. No vendor documents a numeric anonymity threshold.
Lattice Engagement
Strengths: Pulse, onboarding and exit surveys with action planning and AI analysis for $4 a seat (Lattice pricing).
Weaknesses: Anonymity thresholds are not documented.
Best fit for my clients: Companies already on Lattice.
Watch out for: The $4,000 annual minimum applies.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: $4 per seat per month.
Culture Amp Engage
Strengths: AI comment summaries and a People Science consulting option.
Weaknesses: G2 cons include repetitive survey questions.
Best fit for my clients: Companies of 50 to 200 with an HR owner.
Watch out for: Quote only and annual billing.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Not published.
Officevibe by Workleap
Strengths: Aimed at small and mid-size teams, with feedback shown only when privacy rules are met (Officevibe).
Weaknesses: I verified no review criticism.
Best fit for my clients: Teams that want light pulse surveys.
Watch out for: The Workleap pricing page shows suite prices, and I could not confirm they are Officevibe’s alone. TINYpulse is now part of WebMD Health Services and no longer sold standalone.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Verify with Workleap.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Lattice Engagement
$4 per seat
26 and up
Not documented
Included
AI analysis
Dedicated success
Good
Culture Amp Engage
Quote
50 to 1,000
Not documented
HRIS, Slack, Teams
Comment summaries
24/5 under 200
Conditional
Officevibe
Suite pricing
Small and mid-size
Not documented
Not read
Not read
Not read
Verify price
Employee recognition and rewards platforms
These tools let colleagues thank each other and redeem points. The buyer question is whether rewards create payroll obligations. They can. The DLSE says nondiscretionary bonuses are included in the regular rate, while gifts on special occasions are not (DLSE), and federal guidance says gifts tied to hours, production or efficiency are not excludable (DOL Fact Sheet 56A). The IRS says cash and cash equivalents, including gift cards, are never excludable as de minimis benefits (IRS Publication 15-B). My working view: points promised in advance for attendance or sales look like wages, and spontaneous peer thank-yous are closer to gifts, but the label does not decide. No vendor documents payroll reporting.
Bonusly
Strengths: The best published pricing here, with a free plan and rewards billed at face value (Bonusly pricing).
Weaknesses: I verified no review criticism.
Best fit for my clients: Teams of 10 to 100 using Slack or Teams.
Watch out for: The page shows a monthly toggle while the FAQ says plans bill annually. Gift-card rewards are taxable.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Free up to 8 users; Team $5 per user a month with Bizy or $3 without.
Weaknesses: The page contradicts itself on its target size.
Best fit for my clients: Companies of 50 to 250.
Watch out for: Contract length and cancellation are not stated, and its Visa card is a cash equivalent for tax purposes.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Custom; typical small-business spend $3,000 to $10,000 a year, with a $3,000 minimum.
Awardco
Strengths: Service award and automated recognition tiers (Awardco pricing).
Weaknesses: I verified no review criticism.
Best fit for my clients: Employers with anniversary programs.
Watch out for: Term, renewal and true-up terms appear only in the proposal.
Pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Packages “starting at $3,000” for 100 employees or fewer, not universal.
Platform
Pricing model
Headcount fit
California support
Integrations
AI features
Support
My fit rating
Bonusly
Free, then per user
8 to 500
Payroll reporting not documented
Slack, Teams
Bizy assistant
Not stated
Strong
Motivosity
Custom, $3,000 minimum
50 to 250
Not documented
Not read
Not documented
Not stated
Conditional
Awardco
Quote tiers
100 and under to large
Not documented
Not read
Not documented
Not stated
Conditional
Wellbeing and financial wellness tools often ride along with recognition and engagement suites. Earned wage access is the one with a California rule: the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation issued regulations effective February 15, 2025 that treat most such products as consumer loans, according to a Mayer Brown summary. I could not read the agency’s own page, so confirm the details before you offer it.
What I would buy at 10, 25 and 50 employees
10 employees: Nothing beyond a written review template and Bonusly’s free plan if you want recognition. Use the CRD harassment courses and keep the certificates.
25 employees: BambooHR Pro for reviews if you are already there, or Lattice Foundations. TalentLMS’s free or Core plan for onboarding training.
50 employees: Lattice or 15Five for performance and engagement, Pave for benchmarks, and a pay data report prepared before you reach 100 employees.
Questions I ask before signing a contract
What is the term, does it auto-renew, and what notice do I give?
Can I export every review, survey result and training record, and how long do I have after cancellation?
What are the implementation, add-on and minimum seat fees?
What support do I get in writing, and who handles the change-management work?
By how much can prices rise at renewal?
For surveys: what is the minimum group size for reporting, and can admins see who wrote a comment?
For rewards: can the tool send awards to payroll so taxes and regular-rate pay are handled?
What is the best performance management software for a small business?
For 25 to 150 people, Lattice and 15Five publish per-seat prices and cover reviews, goals and one-on-ones. If you already pay for BambooHR, use its Pro tier before buying anything new. Under 25, a documented annual review process often does the job.
What is the best employee engagement survey tool for a small business?
Lattice Engagement is $4 a seat with a $4,000 annual minimum. BambooHR Core includes eNPS surveys. Before launch, decide who sees free-text comments, because survey answers can work as complaints.
What is the best small business learning management system?
TalentLMS has a free plan for five users and monthly plans from $119 for 100 users. 360Learning’s Team plan is $8 per user a month with no annual commitment. Neither documents California harassment content, so keep the state courses and certificates.
Do I need pay equity software in California?
Usually not under 100 employees. Start with a pay range for every role, a documented reason for any difference and the Equal Pay Act in mind. At 100 or more, you file the state’s annual pay data report, and a payroll export plus the state’s templates may be enough.
Does California require pay data reporting?
Yes, for private employers with 100 or more employees, filed through the Civil Rights Department’s portal each May. Reports for 2025 were due May 13, 2026. A new law expands the job categories for the 2027 filing, so check the portal for the current template.
Are employee recognition gift cards taxable?
Generally yes. The IRS treats gift cards and other cash equivalents as never excludable as de minimis benefits. Reward programs also raise regular-rate pay questions for non-exempt staff, so talk to your payroll provider before launch.
Disclosure: As of the date this series was published, I have no endorsements, sponsorships, or financial relationships with any company mentioned, and none of them paid for or reviewed this content. I use no affiliate links. My views reflect my own experience and research, and other professionals and users may reasonably reach different conclusions about these platforms. Features and pricing change often, so verify current details with each vendor before you buy.
Sources
Every link below was opened on the access date shown. Vendor pages are the vendor’s own; review-site figures are as displayed that day.
Part 4 covers leave, case management, postings, compliance training and workers’ comp tools. If you want your review process, pay ranges or recognition program checked against California law, book a free consultation and bring what you use today.
McKinley holds a J.D. but is not a licensed attorney. Articles here are general information, not legal advice. For your specific situation, talk with an employment attorney.
Data current as of October 2026. Sources are linked where each figure appears.
This article is general information, not legal advice. Laws change and every situation is different; for advice on yours, talk with an employment attorney.
The overview of my five-part HR software series for California small employers: every category mapped, what to buy first, and how I check each platform. No sponsors, no affiliate links.
My Part 2 guide to hiring software for California small employers: ATS, job distribution, assessments, background checks, I-9 and onboarding, with prices checked October 2026.
My Part 4 guide to compliance software for California small employers: leave, case management, posters, training and workers comp tools, with prices checked October 2026.